Find Questions (& Answers)

Login Forums Beyond Practicing Q&A Learning Sight Reading on Piano – *faster*

• Learning Sight Reading on Piano – *faster*

Posted by Stephan Ware on October 4, 2022 at 12:00 pm

I’m just getting started on the “Beyond Practicing” course so I apologize if this is already in there in some regard but at a glance I’m guessing not. One of the things I’m trying to get better at is sight reading. All the advice I’ve found centers on techniques like “do it a lot”, “now do it a lot more…”, “never look at your hands”, “feel for/anchor off of repeated notes to place your hands”, “read the chords” etc. but not the structure of the practice. My current favorite tool is the Piano Marvel web app, which has a bunch of fairly precisely-level-sorted repertoire and connects to my digital piano to track how well I match the notes. It also sets a steady tempo I must keep up with in it’s “performance” mode. Hence I can do “level 10A” practice, where I’m barely holding on at the 80% correct notes “passing” level, or I could focus on “Level 9b” works where my first try might be more often in the mid 80s, or level 9a, where I’m sometimes touch the 90s, or “level 8” where I could try for 100s. I wonder if any studies about learning would indicate where I should focus? I imagine “variety” and “do it all” is somewhere in there, but how much should I work at the bleeding edge where I’m barely getting 80s (which feels terrible, but I *think* actually makes me better faster), vs. easier stuff where I can actually (or more easily) layer in some focus on “techniques” like finding notes that are repeated from chord to chord and anchoring on those, etc. Then there’s the question of repeat attempts: my 2nd try is sometimes 10 points better as maybe I’ve micro-learned some key repeated pattern, and sometimes worse because I maybe try for harder parts and miss what got right the first time. By the 3rd try I’m often clearly better, but maybe my 3rd try at a level 10A is simi